Three Weddings and a Face Funeral

9 Mar

Welcome back to our guest beauty blogger, Emma O’Connor, who has been getting her skin wedding ready. Over to you Em!

I’m not quite sure what happened since I last blogged for the Wedding Dolls, but it seems to have given me the wedding bug. I now have the job of being a Bridesmaid three times this year. My first bridal mission is Maid of Honour to my sister in Ibiza this September.

I have learnt enough from the Wedding Dolls to know the first rule about being in the bridal party, “it’s not all about me”. Hmmm, however, my first thought was that I needed to sort out my skin and quickly. Thankfully my face had just about got over the relentless winter abuse but I needed to change my bad habits and fast if I was going to make it to Ibiza with peachy clear skin.

I headed out into town looking for an answer and got some great advice from Maureen at LoveBeautySkin who told me to ditch my trusty old friend, the face wipe immediately. I have been a big fan of wipes for years, using different brands in every price range. Each time I changed I felt a little like I was cheating on my boyfriend. But Maureen told me that “face wipes don’t really remove make-up or oil thoroughly enough – they just tend to move oil and dirt around the face, sometimes still leaving an oily residue”.

After her advice I rushed to the shops hunting a new face religion. After hours of fun in the beauty aisles I had completely transformed my view of ‘cleaning’ my face.

I have combination skin, so my t-zone can be oily. I needed a hard-working clay-based cleanser like Neutrogena 2-in-1 face wash and masque (£3.99 for 150ml). Fabulous! Two birds one stone. It has a lovely thick consistency and you only need a pea-sized amount to do the job.

It rinses off easily and leaves a tingly freshness. I’ve been using it as a face masque twice a week, leaving it to dry completely, then rinsing and finishing with a warm damp flannel around my jaw, brows and hair-line. It has left my face smooth and glowing.

To get rid of the dead skins cells once a week I have a new scrub, Gentle Exfoliator Brightening Toner from Clarins (£24, 125ml). It’s been working its magic and has made my skin appear brighter, as well as prevented the excess oil from re-appearing.

For moisturising I was introduced to a serum which I’ve never used before. I have the Serum Hydra Cellulaire Moisturising Concentrate from Guinot (£71.50 for 30ml), which works better for my skin type and can be used in the morning and night or when I feel it needs it.

It felt a bit weird using a serum to start with but once I got used to the consistency I love the light clear feeling it leaves on your skin instead of my normal moisturising cream.

Lets hope these fantastic new products and the change in my skin care routine will make my skin Ibiza ready well before the big day.

See you all soon

Emma x

P.S Don’t tell anyone but I still keep emergency face wipes for night outs…. shifting make-up around my face at 4am is as much as any girl about town can manage.

2 Responses to “Three Weddings and a Face Funeral”

  1. Lauren 09/03/2012 at 7:01 pm #

    I had the same skin issue, bad diet and drink over Christmas. I can picture the dirt on my face!! Eewww
    Face washes for me from now on.
    Will look into the face serums. Thanks – great blog.
    XX

Leave a Reply

